Captain Shepard House
Maritime ship captain, Captain Albion E. Shepard, founded and named the town Marathon in 1882 after recalling from earlier travels that the nearby mountainous landscape had a striking resemblance to Marathon, Greece. Built in 1890 and fully restored in 2012, the classic colonial-style building includes a stately two-story five-bedroom main building and an exterior two-room carriage house. The main building includes one bedroom on the main floor and four on the second floor with private stone tile baths, and showcase handsomely furnished common rooms which include a sitting room, TV room, dining room, butler’s kitchen and second floor porch. The Carriage House, located in the landscaped backyard, offer two separate king rooms with TV and a screened-in porch. In-room amenities include Wi-Fi, plush bathrobes, premium beds and linens, toiletries, hairdryer, iron, bottled water and complimentary coffee service in the hotel lobby. The rooms in Captain Shepard House are not pet friendly.